Ninety 90’s Songs: Jump Around, Hump Around, Rump Around

I went to an *ahem* urban middle school. I was a minority within a majority of minorities. I feel I’m better for the experience. I learned to mind my own business, stay out of fights, avoid gang association, and I learned some life-saving fashion advice: never wear a red and blue shirt in territory where Crips and Bloods are having a turf war. What I didn’t learn, however, is that Hip Hop has some white people involved, too. So like me, House of Pain is a minority within a majority of minorities.

#58 “Jump Around” by House of Pain. Not to be confused with “Jump” by Kriss Kross (like I’ve done), “Jump Around” became a hit in the US in ’92 before being re-released in the UK where it is still a club anthem. As famous as this single became, it is more infamous for it’s heavy use of sampling from a few different songs, and that terrible saxophone squeal at the beginning of every bar that could be used effectively to start a riot or to induce labor.

Squeeeeeeal. Squeeeeeeal. Squeeeeeeal. Squeeeeal. Jump. Jump. Jump. Jump. Jump. Jump.

Ugh.

And that basically what the songs is about.

And guess what people do when they hear this. Go on. Guess. And now pat yourself on the back because, if you guessed anything else besides “jump”, you are probably like me and tried to stab your ears with the nearest anything just to stop the madness. Still, this song proves the decade’s uncanny ability to produce unforgettable tracks that live forever.

Aside from releasing such an annoying single, House of Pain is also well know for giving Everlast to the world. Later in the 90’s he went solo sans the rest of his household of pain, and did quite well, and you might not even believe he was a member of this group due to the musical range he explores.

Now that I have a headache, I leave you with the video that includes lyrics in case you forget the words. And if you don’t stir the slightest bit to even tap your foot or bounce your knee when the song begins, even despite yourself, then I’d advise you to check with your doctor.

Leave a Reply

