State of the Blog Address: What the Heck Am I Doing?

I’ve been active, more or less, on my blog for about a year now, so I thought I would take a moment to reflect on what I’m doing.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and for the past ten years most of my writing has been limited to journals and copious notes for stories that I can’t get off the ground. My notes could amount to novels themselves in their mass, but they lack plot, theme, character and instead focus on trying to establish those things.
image

And for the record, a part of me considers blogging about Sex and the City, 90s music, and whatever else to be frivolous. Regurgitating my own spin on someone else’s work is not creating anything new. It is, however, exercise.

And it’s kind of fun.

Something I’ve never done in my writing previous to blogging is setting goals for myself. Aside from telling myself in the morning, “I’m going to Starbucks today and I’m going to write,” I’ve never established any long term objectives.

So deciding to indulge in nostalgia and writing about 90s songs won’t directly result in the next great American novel. It will, hopefully sharpen my skills. And instead of stashing my thoughts away into spiral bound notebooks and boxes, I’m putting something out “there”.

Writing about Sex and the City, which ended a decade ago, won’t propel me to any kind of fame, but it will help me learn how to convey my thoughts to an audience, even if the audience is non-existent. Once again, it is something I’m putting out “there”.

There have been other goals in my life, other dreams, and some of those have passed me by. Others have transformed from fantastical aspiration into mundane reality. But being a writer has always been there, and there have been times when I haven’t given it its proper attention.

I’ve reached a point where I can no longer be a recluse with my writing. My plans and hopes for stories that I have yet to commit to paper or processor still reside within the vault of my mind, but my more superfluous musings are crowding my thoughts and my writer’s hand itches to express them.

I may not be engaging you in topics you enjoy with every post, and I may venture into interests that you do not share. That’s fine. You may come across this post randomly an may not understand who I am or what my angle is. A personal post like this may not be your thing to read, or maybe you’re surprised I have thoughts such as this and are interested in more.

There will be more. It may seem frivolous. It may not matter to anyone but myself. I may muster my courage and explore more personal matters, or maybe my wit will sharpen and I can entertain or enlighten you more effectively.

Onward to another year.

Leave a Reply

